A Kick In The Pants

I didn’t start out 2013 motivated.

I was beginning to grown tired of my novel. I was dedicating so much time and energy to it and it got to a point where I began to doubt my work. I doubted that the words on the page were good enough.

Twitter was abuzz with people getting agents and winning contests and I was revising – again.

Then 2 things happened to snap me out of my funk:

1. I found two great CP’s

2. I finally won a contest.

Finding my CP’s. I have a great CP that I found on Shewrites.com and a great CP that I found via a contest I entered on Twitter. Having these writers get excited and provide a much needed jab in the right direction is so beneficial.

Winning a contest. I was on Twitter Friday and read about a flash fiction contest with a midnight deadline. I played around with entering because I was in a writing funk. But when I went home I couldn’t get the picture of the door out of my mind and BOOM it happened. That weekend, I couldn’t stop writing and regardless of whether I won, I had gotten my fire back. And entering actually paid off and I won: http://typelingsaz.blogspot.com/

I don’t know where you are in your writing. Maybe you are still in the honeymoon phase or maybe you and your work in progress are having a fight. Search within yourself and go find your needed kick in the pants. Here’s to hoping for continued productivity!

2 thoughts on “A Kick In The Pants”

Leave a Reply

