Stop Holding Back

I started writing my first manuscript in a fit of passion. The words just poured out. I couldn’t get the story out of my mind. I would awake at not having to jot down not. I would text myself passages while on lunch or riding in the car with my husband.

But then I began to reread it – and felt self-conscious. Was this character too much like..her? Does this sound like him. How much of my life or experiences was bleeding into my work. How could I let this happen. Would I still have family after this?

Filled with fear and doubt, I began to turn my back on my writing. I couldn’t risk more of myself bleeding into my work. I couldn’t face the danger of my words.

This was the worst mistake ever! Sometimes holding back and watching what you say is not in the best interest. You are not only putting the kibosh on your muse but you are silencing your voice. There is a story inside of you that is beating down the doors to get out. Why silence that story.

Let your story take you where it needs to lead you. Maybe you will end up with a memoir. Maybe after revisions you end up with a YA thriller that pays little resemblance to any aspect of your life. You will never know unless you get the story out.

Stop holding back.

2 thoughts on “Stop Holding Back”

Leave a Reply

