Time

When February began, I immediately began to think about how I managed my time.

I am embarking on revisions for my first book. This is exciting because I have sent it out in the world to get feedback and am loving all the help/guidance I am receiving. Also this month, I am participating in Ashley Farley’s Write- A-Thon (http://ashleyfarley.net). I am using this opportunity to draft a NA novel that I think is going to be a kick butt series. Super excited about that!

Anyway, back to time. There are 24 hours in a day. If you think about it, this is a massive amount of seconds, minutes, and hours that gets whittled down daily based on our activities. But the fact remains that we start each day with 24 hours at our disposal.

For me:

6a I wake up, deal with kids, prep for work, and get to work

730 I arrive at work. I spend 8 1/2 hours here with the 1/2 being my lunch.

400 I begin my commute home

0445 I am usually home. I will clean and cook for the family

0630 Usually when I try to have dinner ready

0700 try to take a walk with the family but now its getting colder so this time is usually watching TV time

0745-0800 getting the kids ready for bed

0800-1100 watching TV, on the computer, random time wasting

1100-1130 trying to go to sleep

I outlined this schedule this summer because I was trying to “find the time” to write. After a thorough look at my schedule, I see that the time has always been there – I just choose not to utilize it. I mean, I sit at my desk for lunch and usually read People magazine online. The time that I’m prepping for dinner, I usually have a quiet 30 minutes where no one is home and something is simmering and doesn’t require my attention. Also there are three solid hours at night where I don’t HAVE to watch TV – that’s why I have a DVR.

I am full of excuses and putting it on paper really spelled it out. Now, I have kids and life happens so something usually does pop up. But in the end, there is no excuse for me to not write.

The time has always been there.

Leave a Reply

