Falling In Love With Your Work (Why I Hate Mondays)

Basic RGB

I finished my second book and have outlined 3 more – I love the weekends!

My first book, truly showed me that I have “the goods.” Through writing this work, I proved to myself that I could craft ideas and experiences, put them on paper, and create something that I could be proud of. When I was writing and revising it, I approached each day like a kid glancing out the window for the ice cream truck – I could hardly wait.  I wanted to immerse myself in that world and see what the characters were saying.

In February, I started a new book.  Although in a completely different genre for me – I longed to be with the work more than the first one.  Whenever I put it away at night, I dreamed about it. Whenever I was at work, I would write down notes during my break period.  I was so possessive of it – not wanting anyone to touch the computer – I was really in love with that book.

That’s the best part of writing to me – falling in love with your work.  I believe you are doing a disservice to your WIP if you don’t immerse yourself in it at least once a week.  Allow it to carry you away, spend the time to hear it and watch how your writing takes off.  That’s why I love weekends – because it gives me at least one definite day where I can shut myself off from everyone and do that.

So that brings me back to why I hate Mondays. Mondays snap me back to reality. I like working, don’t get me wrong. I am grateful for my job and my house (really not trying to be living in a box). But I really miss my little worlds I create on the weekend; I miss how I felt like I had all the time in the world – until the alarm goes off Monday morning at 6am.

Reality can be a cruel thing at time.  My challenge to all writers this week is to find the time to fall in love with your work.  Also share in the comments how you keep the love alive during the week – that’s my struggle:)

*************Giveaway*****************************

Also, please click on the Rafflecopter link below. The box will not display on my page for WordPress related issues so click the link (it’s safe). The drawing for the Starbucks gift card has been extended to tonight – GOOD LUCK!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

MondaysBlogHopButton_zpse6a5f098

2 thoughts on “Falling In Love With Your Work (Why I Hate Mondays)”

  1. I agree that you need to love what you write, and love writing it (although all I write is a little blog, nothing on the scale of what you do). But I love Mondays. Not only do my teenagers go to school (yay), but it’s the experiences that I have during the week that give me either more to write about, or different perspectives on what I’m writing.

Leave a Reply

