Taking Time Off

437093-Royalty-Free-RF-Clipart-Illustration-Of-A-Cartoon-Man-Taking-A-Virtual-Vacation-In-His-Office

I have been writing non-stop since last June. I have outlined 3 books in a mystery series, 7 picture books, wrote one Adult Cont. Fiction, one NA Dystopian, and of course – I write medical consents for a living.

After I wrote “The End” on the last novel, I had physically couldn’t make myself look at anything else. Now, don’t get me wrong, my brain wanted to. I wanted to look at that novel and nitpick. I wanted to fret over ALL the words and why I wrote them. I was like a drug addict dependent on her words – I had to have them!

But I stopped myself. My head hurt, I was sleepy, and I think I needed sunlight:) I looked at my stack of books to be read, my gym membership, my family, and the beautiful sun outside this past weekend and knew I needed to take time off.

I am so happy I did.

When I looked at my novel Tuesday night, I had a light bulb moment. The perfect prologue came to my mind. I quickly wrote it down and then closed my computer. I have vowed not to look at the manuscript again until this weekend.

Sometimes we need to take time off from our babies. We need a break to bring clarity. I feel like that book was good but after this break – WATCH OUT! I’m going to make this MS great!

What are you working on and when did you get that moment of clarity?

(Also, Martin was the winner of the gift card.  Congrats!)

Leave a Reply

