Campnano Day 22: Perserverance

Flickr_cc_runner_wisconsin_u

We all have those days. It’s like you are a running – the finish line is in sight but you begin to get tired. Your energy becomes sapped, you want a little water, and all you can think about is stopping.

As you slow down, preparing to drop to the ground in defeat, you look at the finish line again. There were people that told you that you would not finish. Heck, you didn’t even think you would make it this far! Now when you focus on the finish line again there is a rush of oxygen to your head, your legs feel stronger, and you feel yourself rushing towards the finish – you are going to make it!

When you write, especially during campnano, your are running a race. You have a goal to meet by the end of the month to put words on the page. Many things will happen to deter you. This month kids spray painted vulgar words on my sidewalk, the kids have ALWAYS had something to do, and the Stats monster has come to claim me. Halfway through the month I wanted to throw in the towel but I perserved. I saw the finish line and got a second win. I am 3000 words away from meeting my 10 story goal for my picture book series. This is a major accomplishment for me.

If you are finding yourself on the verge on quitting, please push forward. The end is near and the world truly needs you to finish your story. We want to hear it.

MondaysBlogHopButton_zpse6a5f098

4 thoughts on “Campnano Day 22: Perserverance”

    1. No problem. Monday is always the day that pushes you to the brink. Sometimes I think I need a Tuesday-Friday job (but that would probably put bad juju on my Tuesday!)

Leave a Reply

