Revisions: Adding More Words

So one of the comments I got during the beta was to add more. I was writing a Science Fiction novel and I did not want it to get too wordy – I’ve ready plenty of stories like that. However, I agreed with my betas and CP that a little more explanation was needed in some areas. Thus to add a little length, I did the following:

 

  1. I went through all the areas noted by my CP. I had a great CP and any area highlighted with the words MORE I heeded.
  2. I wrote short stories for each of my pivotal characters. I then read through the story to ensure that my character descriptions aligned with how they were written in my story. This helped tremendously in dialogue and further describing certain scenes.
  3. I picked through spots to analyze: the beginning (in this case my prologue), the absolute middle, and the end. I checked these areas to ensure the sections engaged the readers.

What do you do to beef up your novels?

4 thoughts on “Revisions: Adding More Words”

  1. This happened with my sci fi too! Because the world was already so alive in my head, I took certain details for granted. It’s not like describing a subway station or a card shop, where everyone already has a template they can plop your details into. It takes a much richer description. Thankfully, this is the fun part! I got to throw in all sorts of fun details I loved but worried might be overkill. After that, my betas liked it so much more. Good luck as you continue to revise! 🙂

    1. Thanks for sharing Jayme. I love to hear from other Scifi writers! I agree that the world is so alive in our head that I feel like we think we are conveying enough “because we already see it.”

    1. I think there is a definite correlation with fast drafting and coming up short. I wrote my story in a month and then used the first revision to fill in gaps and beef it up.

Leave a Reply

