Revisions: Taking a Holiday

I have heard many times that you need to take a step back from your novel before embarking on your revisions. This enables you to look at your work with a fresh pair of eyes.

I want to take this one step further. I say you need to take a holiday with your novel.
Yes, you need to take a break from it. You guys need space! Your mind has been on this great literary masterpiece for a LONG time, and if you don’t take a breather you could go crazy. But, I also believe you need to take a holiday with your novel. If possible take a quick trip out of town, check into a hotel in town, or simply hang out at the airport. I found doing revisions in a totally new environment worked wonders for me.
For example, I had particular coffee shops and restaurants that I drafted in. When doing revisions, I could not go back. I felt like I had drained all of the energy out of those places and needed somewhere new. I also took a vacation day from work simply to write and edit. Let me tell you, it was pure bliss!

Have you taken a holiday with your novel? How did it work for you?

MondaysBlogHopButton_zpse6a5f098

4 thoughts on “Revisions: Taking a Holiday”

Leave a Reply

