Asking Why (and a writing dare!)

There are many mornings, that I question why I am writing books.  I don’t know about you, but my life is CRA-ZY! Between grad school, work, the mommy thing and the wife thing, it feels like I’m being pulled in several directions and my brain is made of Laffy Taffy. There are many days I’m lucky to get 6 hours of sleep (let alone words on a page). Why am I trying to write novels?

Then I look at my words.  They are all beautifully printed on the page (thanks to Staples). Seeing the words printed, makes it real to me. I wrote a book. A book.  That sounds amazing!  Just saying those words makes me sit up a little straighter as I bask in delusions of grandeur.  I push forward because hopefully one day it will be printed in MASS and shared with people all over the world. Pushing through the time to draft and revise while surviving on little sleep will be worth it because in the end I will be closer to my dream.  How many people can say that?

*****************

Your dare, if you choose to accept it, is to have your main character write a letter to their future self.  Make it wild and wacky or something meaningful.  If you want you can post interesting bits of your letter here.  I definitely would enjoy reading them throughout the day!

MondaysBlogHopButton_zpse6a5f098

4 thoughts on “Asking Why (and a writing dare!)”

Leave a Reply

