Revisions: Making it sound real

As I cull through my revisions, I find myself speaking aloud a lot. I ask myself questions (Why did I put you in this situation again?), I talk to the characters (that’s seriously stupid you know, he’s not that scary!), and of course I read my conversations out loud.

This is so important for your dialogue. I find that when I write, the words kind of flow out. Therefore its up to the revision process to make sense out of these conversations. As an editor pointed out, “Would you say someone’s name like that in casual conversation?” This is a very good point.

So my revision tip for the week is work on ways to make your words sound real. No one wants to read something wooden.

Happy Monday!

MondaysBlogHopButton_zpse6a5f098

Leave a Reply

