What’s your style?

I am not Beyoncé.

Look, I am sure she is a nice person. People love her sense of style and her talent but, I do not emulate my style after her. However, whenever I sit in a salon chair or shop for new clothing, people feel the need to make me her doppelgänger. They want to give me her hair or use her clothing choices to give me options for my own closet. Yes, I am a young mother but unlike Ms. Bey, I’m a young corporate mother who has her own sense of style (thank you very much!). No offense to those that try to follow the latest trends, I prefer to set my own and stay true to myself.

Now, how does this tie in to writing…

It can be so easy to tailor of writing to sound like what’s “hot.” When you see those agent wish lists or get rejected, it’s easy to look at what’s hot and try to emulate that style. But you shouldn’t do that! Know who you are and what you style is. When the right agent or deal comes for you, you will be happy to know you did things your way – in your own style.

Leave a Reply

