Giants

In life, we are bound to face obstacles.

We may face naysayers in our personal life, crazy coworkers, or even family members that do not have our best interest at heart. What I believe is a true sign of your personal character is how you deal with the giants in your life.

As a child who was relentlessly bullied, I admit to shriveling and allowing myself to constantly get kicked. Around my junior year of high school, I met a new set of friends who showed me that it was time to stand up for myself and allow mean words to roll off my back. And there were a lot of mean words!

However, I took the mean words and used it to infuse myself with anger and strength. I would tell myself that “you will overcome this and show them all by being more fabulous than they could ever imagine.”

When writing your characters, think about how they deal with the giants in their life. How do the obstacles your characters face, shape their identity and their outlook on life? Once you map this out, it is sure to enhance your character development.

2 thoughts on “Giants”

Leave a Reply

