2015 Reflections: My Writing

So this was supposed to be posted about a week (or 2) ago and thus this sums up how my writing went in 2015.

It was delayed multiple times. *sigh*

In my final reflection of things that transpired in 2015, I focus on my writing. I have to be honest, I really was not feeling my writing at the close of 2015. My mind and spirit was overwhelmed. I felt like I kept hitting a brick wall and nothing productive was coming out and finally the passion that I had for earlier projects JUST WASN’T THERE.

In terms of writing, here are the three major things I wrote in 2015:
1.  I worked on business writing – writing speeches, constructing social media campaigns, talking points, etc.
2.  I hit a wall in editing my finished SciFi and shelved it. I then started working on my MG. I got really gung ho during NanoWrimo but the fever only lasted up until the first day. I did some small edits throughout the month but nothing lasting. The story just stopped resonating!
3.  I blogged (minimally). My number of blog post in 2015 was 10 (and I took a blogging break between February and June). This was a major blogging slump for me.

In 2016, I want to find my passion again and I think I’m off to a good start. I exchanged chapters of both projects with my writing friend at the end of 2015 and became reignited. She has steered me back on the path of my SciFi project and we have exchanged novels. I’m actually EXCITED. Once I started reading over my work on this project again, I felt pulled back into this story and I cannot wait to give it another look and hopefully make magic happen.

Here’s to a productive 2016!

2 thoughts on “2015 Reflections: My Writing”

  1. I think you are definitely on the right track. I hope that you won’t beat yourself up on the the progress you made in 2015. You had a LOT of things going on and so you can only do so much. Remember, the writing is always waiting for you when you’re ready. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

