30 Days of Gratitude: Days 6-11

Day 6: What in nature are you grateful for?

With Halloween quickly approaching, the Fall decorating bug has bitten me! I immediately got a sweet idea for flowers and pumpkins on my porch. I envisioned yellowish/orange chrysanthemums (mums) but was immediately pulled in by white mums when seeing them at the local grocery store.  It was like fate! I am so grateful for the beauty they have brought to my porch. They are inspiring even as I type this.
Day 7: What memory are you grateful for?

I got pregnant with my oldest daughter when I was a sophomore in college. For many in my family (and even some old friends), graduating from college ended the day I had her. The memory I am most grateful for, was walking across the stage at Millsaps College in May 2007 with my daughter and family watching me. My daughter was a gift and motivation to achieve my goals.

Day 8: What book are you most grateful for?

This is a tough question because I love to read and I believe that every book has shaped some part of who I am (yes, even the romance novels!). I love a good Aunt Dimity mystery. Reading them inspired me to try writing my own mystery series. I actually like the Twilight books. They made me long for a better, more romantic, teen existence. Finally, A Call To Conscience: The Landmark Speeches By Martin Luther King, Jr. fires me up and makes me want to hope again.
Day 9: What place are you most grateful for?

Home, because there is no place like it. The best part of going on a trip is knowing that you will return home. Then you come home and lay in your bed (that fits you perfectly), you read your books, and drink your water AND ARE ALL THE MORE GRATEFUL for what you have.
Day 10: What taste are you grateful for today? 

I was craving something sweet (that I shouldn’t indulge in!) and remembering that I haphazardly packed a peach yogurt in my bag. IT HIT THE SPOT! So I am grateful for creamy peach yogurt goodness:)
Day 11: What holiday are you grateful for?

This is a tough one because I have grown into not being a holiday person. I feel the big holidays – Christmas and Thanksgiving – lead up to potential drama. So, I am grateful for any low key “holiday” where I can get away with just laying somewhere reading a book:)

Writing connection: I am blogging my 30 days of gratitude, as I do revisions to my novel, because I want to think of more human attributes to add to my MC. I think gratitude is a great human attribute that we overlook because so often when we are chasing the superficial we forget about the small stuff.

Leave a comment